Urge for Greater Action and More Ambitious Climate Goals by the HKSAR

acrhk

871
Signatures
needed!
Help us to reach our target!
129

Target: 1000

Sign Now

Environmental Petition

Urge for Greater Action and More Ambitious Climate Goals by the HKSAR

129 SIGNATURES obtained, NEED TO REACH 1000 by July 4, 2021

Secretary of the Environment and The Chief Executive of Hong Kong,

The Hong Kong SAR government needs to do more to lower its carbon emissions by 2030. Not only are its current goals lacking the required ambition a city like Hong Kong should demonstrate, but even those goals are not on track to being met if Hong Kong does not make considerable changes. This petition calls on the government to take immediate climate actions: to set ambitious goals, to convert current energy source to the renewables and to reform the building efficiency policy.

show more

To Secretary of the Environment and The Chief Executive of Hong Kong,

We are a group of youth and students representing Asia Climate Rally in Hong Kong, working in collaboration with various student organizations and entities. We are writing this letter because we believe the government of Hong Kong SAR should take more actions to decrease carbon emissions within Hong Kong, as it is currently not doing enough to meet the challenges and threats presented by the global climate crisis.

While the world is currently battling one of the largest pandemics in recent history, we should not forget that a much larger and much more threatening emergency is underway; the climate emergency. 

Hong Kong saw its warmest year on record in 2019, and its summers and winters are consistently becoming warmer each year. Seasonal typhoons are becoming more vicious, with Typhoon Mangkhut in 2018 being the most intense one in the city’s history. Besides higher temperatures and more extreme weather events, Hong Kong is especially susceptible to sea-level rise, and many low-lying regions such as Tai O and Tseung Kwan O around the city are at risk of flooding. Hong Kong’s food security is also at risk, as well as the city’s public health which would be threatened by climate change due to an increase in vector-borne diseases such as malaria and dengue fever. All of these impacts come not only with a toll on human life, but also a huge economic cost that could severely threaten the economic prosperity Hong Kong has enjoyed for generations.

Therefore it is clear that we must act with urgency to mitigate climate change by reducing our carbon emissions and meet the targets set by the Paris Agreement to keep average global temperature rise well below 2 C. Yet, the government of Hong Kong is not doing nearly enough to ensure it will achieve its stated responsibility of cutting emissions. Not only is the city on a trajectory to not meet the targets it has set for itself by 2030 (e.g. per capita emission of between 3.3 to 3.8 tonnes of CO2 equivalent), but those targets—even if achieved—are not sufficient to meet the targets set by the Paris Agreement.

Unless the government of the Hong Kong SAR plans to fail in its responsibilities towards its citizens and the world at large, the following steps must be realised as soon as possible.

  1. Greenhouse Gas Emissions Targets
    • A dedicated climate authority must be structured to set, monitor, and review targets for mitigation.  Such authorities exist in neighbouring cities such as Singapore, Tokyo, and Seoul, but in Hong Kong the matter of climate action is left to the Environment Bureau, the Steering Committee on Climate Change, and the Council for Sustainable Development, causing a dilution of leadership and uncertainty regarding who is responsible and accountable.
    • 2030 emissions targets for the city must be reconsidered. The current targets set by the Hong Kong Climate Action Plan 2030+ fall behind the necessary targets for a 1.5 C increase by 78%.
  2. Energy Generation
    • Utilise more renewable energy and phase out fossil fuels completely. Current plans indicate a transition is underway to replace coal-fired power plants with natural gas ones, but there is no clear plan with regards to phasing out these fossil fuels entirely with renewable sources (a necessary step for achieving the above emissions targets).
    • Utilise the neighbouring region’s renewable energy capacity. The renewable energy generating capacity target for 2030 is set at 3-4%, which is incredibly low in absolute terms and comparison to nearby cities. Hong Kong could pioneer smart grid solutions which extend beyond the city’s borders to utilise and support the neighbouring region’s renewable energy capacity if it were serious about doing so. 
    • Place new tariffs and incentives accelerate the adoption of renewable energy.
  3. Energy Efficiency and Consumption
    • Reform the building efficiency policy and make it more stringent to ensure greater efficiency standards for new and existing buildings, otherwise risk failing to achieve the targets set by Hong Kong’s Energy Saving Plan for 2025.
  4. Transportation
    • Power electric vehicles with green electricity only. Hong Kong’s electric rail transport system cannot fully be considered ‘green’ unless the electricity which powers it comes from green sources, i.e. renewable sources as discussed in section 2.
    • Electrify Hong Kong’s buses. Although private electric cars are in widespread use, Hong Kong’s massive bus fleet still awaits electrification. Proper policies and incentives must be put in place to allow Hong Kong to transition from dirty, diesel-fuelled buses to cleaner electric ones.
    • Introduce new bicycle lanes in the city roadmap. Cycling remains a dangerous and impractical alternative in downtown areas due to the lack of bicycle lanes, severely limiting more widespread adoption of bicycles in the city where emissions from vehicles are greatest.

 

Lastly, the HKSAR must be willing to explicitly place climate change action at the top of its priorities, and give this global crisis the attention and urgency it deserves by educating its population and informing them of the many ways individuals and communities can create change for a better common future.

Sincerely,

Groups of Hong Kong Youth Climate Activists

show more

This petition was started by Asia Climate Rally Hong Kong on January 5, 2021, with an end date of July 4, 2021.

Youth climate groups from different countries in Asia are allying organising climate actions because our voices are crucial in the climate movement. Asia is one of the most vulnerable countries to the climate crisis, but also one of the biggest funders of the fossil fuel industry. We are urging our governments and public development banks to divest from the fossil fuel industry, and invest in our futures!

來自亞洲不同國家的青年氣候團體組織氣候行動,因為我們的聲音對氣候運動非常重要。 亞洲是最受氣候危機影響的地區之一,同時亦是資助化石燃料企業的國家。 我們敦促政府和公共開發銀行停止注資化石燃料行業,並投資我們的未來!


SHARE THIS PETITION

close-link

環保聯署

促請政府訂立更遠大的氣候目標及採取更積極的氣候行動

已有162 個簽名,需要 1000 個簽名,截止日期 2021年 07月 04日
需要
838
個簽名
838

目標: 1000

簽名撐!

聯署簡介

香港特別行政區行政長官, 環境局局長,

香港特別行政區政府採取更多行動以達至在2030年之前降低其碳排放的目標。香港作為國際大都會,當前目標不僅缺乏應該表現出的雄心壯志,並且若香港再不作出重大轉變,我們連達成目標的軌道也無法跟上。我們希望透過此聯署呼籲政府就氣候問題更積極採取行動:設定更遠大目標、轉用可再生能源及改革建築物效能政策。

聯署信內容

致 香港特別行政區行政長官, 環境局局長,

我們是一群代表亞洲氣候大會—香港的青年和學生。我們與亞洲各地的學生組織和團體合作,一起關注氣候變化議題。鑑於我們認為香港特區政府目前在全球氣候危機帶來的挑戰和威脅下所作出的對策及方案有所不足,我們希望透過這封信呼籲政府做出更多行動以減少香港的碳排放。

儘管全球正對抗2019冠狀病毒病,但我們不應對氣候災難的行動有所怠慢,因為氣候變化同樣是一個巨大的危機。

2019年是香港有記錄以來最熱的一年,其夏季及冬季每年亦持續變暖。季節性颱風變得越來越頻繁及猛烈,而2018年的颱風「山竹」更是香港史上35年內最強烈的颱風。除了氣溫上升及更多極端天氣事件外,香港特別會受海平面上升所影響,市內多個低窪地區如大澳和將軍澳或會面臨洪水泛濫危機。此外,由於受到氣候變化影響,瘧疾和登革熱等病媒傳播疾病將隨之增加,使香港的公共衛生,以至食品安全也將面臨重大挑戰。這些影響不僅會造成重大的生命威脅,更需要香港付出巨大經濟代價,或會嚴重威脅到香港人歷代享有的經濟繁榮。

因此,顯而易見,我們必須急切地採取行動以減少碳排放量,並達到《巴黎協議》所定立的目標,使全球平均氣溫上升幅度保持在攝氏2度以下。可是,政府並未採取足夠行動以確保香港能實現其制定的減排責任。即使我們達到香港2030的目標(例如人均二氧化碳排放量為3.3 至 3.8噸),也不足以履行《巴黎協議》的目標。

除非香港政府不主張履行其對公民和全世界的責任,否則必須盡快實現以下目標:

  1. 溫室氣體排放目標
    • 建構專責氣候部門來設定、監控和審查減排目標:
      在新加坡、東京和首爾等鄰近城市已設立專門的氣候部門,但香港的氣候行動由環境局、氣候變化督導委員會和可持續發展委員會負責,導致領導權被稀釋,欠缺清晰的問責對象。
    • 必須重新考慮城市的2030排放目標:
      香港《 2030+年氣候行動計劃》設定的當前目標落後於1.5 C,比所需的目標多出78%。
  2. 能源產生
    • 使用更多的可再生能源,完全淘汰化石燃料:
      當前的計劃表明,我們正在過渡由燃煤到使用天然氣,但是目前尚未有明確計劃,完全淘汰可再生資源中的化石燃料,這是實現上述排放目標的必要步驟。
    • 善用鄰近地區的可再生能源產能:
      將2030年可再生能源發電目標設定為3-4%,這個百分比與附近城市相比實在令人難以置信。香港可以率先開拓智能電網解決方案,擴展到香港以外的地區,以善用和支持鄰近地區可再生能源的發電能力。
    • 實施新關稅和激勵措施加快採用可再生能源
  3. 能源效益與消耗
    • 修改建築物能效政策,並進一步收緊,確保新舊建築物皆能達到較高節能水平:
      否則有可能無法實現香港《 2025年節能計劃》設定的目標。
  4. 運輸
    • 僅用綠色電力為電動汽車供電:
      更改電力供應為綠色電力,即第2節中提及的可再生能源,否則香港鐵路交通系統不能完全被視為「綠色」。
    • 電動化香港的巴士:
      儘管私人電動汽車得到廣泛使用,但巴士仍然倚賴化石燃油。政府必須採取適當的政策和措施,使香港從柴油過渡至較清潔的電動交通工具。
    • 在城市路線圖中引入新的單車徑:
      由於缺乏單車徑,在市中心地區以單車代步仍然是一種危險、不切實際的選擇,這嚴重限制了單車在香港廣泛普及。

 

最後,香港特別行政區必須明確地將氣候變化行動放在優先事項的首位,並通過公眾教育,令社會以多種方式為世界帶來變化,使全球氣候危機得到應有的重視,共創美好未來。

一群代表亞洲氣候大會—香港的青年和學生

謹啟

聯署發起人

聯署由 Asia Climate Rally Hong Kong2021年 01月 05日 發起,於 2021年 07月 04日 完結

Youth climate groups from different countries in Asia are striking back! On November 28, we are organizating a regional day of action because our voices are crucial in the climate movement. Asia is one of the most vulnerable countries to the climate crisis, but also one of the biggest funders of the fossil fuel industry. We are urging our governments and public development banks to divest from the fossil fuel industry, and invest in our futures!

來自亞洲不同國家的青年氣候團體組織氣候行動,因為我們的聲音對氣候運動非常重要。 亞洲是最受氣候危機影響的地區之一,同時亦是資助化石燃料企業的國家。 我們敦促政府和公共開發銀行停止注資化石燃料行業,並投資我們的未來!